Spring 2011: Figure Drawing (NSFW)

Live drawing from models. We produced somewhere between 5-7 drawings each week, twice during the semester we chose our 3-4 best and turned them in, and the week before last we turned in one more. The object here was to draw accurately and effectively, not to produce finished work, so there really isn’t much to say about these; I’m just going to post the ones I turned in.

These are all soft pencil on 18×24 drawing paper.

Batch 1

Batch 2

Batch 3

I gotta say– this felt like pulling teeth the entire semester and like I hadn’t gotten a jot better. But looking at these all in succession, damn that is some progress there, and I wish I could go on working at it for another fifteen months. I could use another month, at the very least, just learning to draw heads and hands that aren’t entirely terrible.

Leave a Reply

