another enormous batch of links

I’m home, kids! Did you miss me?

Regular programming will resume tomorrow, with drawings from my traveling tacked on for a few days; I know I said I’d do architectural drawing, but that involves a lot of sitting outside and being conspicuous about drawing stuff, so mostly I drew museum exhibits and a couple landscapes :/ In the meantime, I have been keeping up with Google Reader, so here– have a whole ton of stuff. This isn’t even all the things I have starred; I’m gonna split this up into a couple of posts.

* From Photograph to Drawing, a post about the history of using reference photography and the relationship in general between photography and drawing. Highly relevant to what I’m doing on this blog right now!

* Scarp, by Jarod Charzewski. Is that a landscape made out of piles of clothing? I think it is.

* Robert Weaver and the uses of principles of abstraction in illustration. Illustration almost always needs to be at least somewhat figurative; it needs to portray something definite and recognizable. But it also needs, like any other form of art, to convey emotion, and this post is about illustrators borrowing principles of nonobjective art to help do that.

* I think this is a landscape painting. But the use of light and contrast is really striking and dramatic and moody. It looks like the beginning of an X-Files episode.

* Ping the Server, by Sterling Crispin. There may be something here I’m not getting, because I don’t know much about programming, but it seems to be drawing a parallel between pinging an online address and contacting a deity. Mostly I just find it oddly mesmerizing to watch the text scroll by.

* The Liars’ Bench. Just made me laugh.

* Two short films animated by Paul Julian, plus a montage of film credits by him. It’s bad enough movies and TV shows often don’t even have credits at all any more, but I especially miss the animated credits people used to do for live-action movies and TV– Charles Addams, Edward Gorey, most famously Maurice Binder, though he wasn’t an illustrator and his designs were more abstract. (Mad Men and Catch Me If You Can both have fantastic animated titles, but those are deliberately meant to look period; the only modern example I can think of is the credits for the show Covert Affairs, which are pretty cool.)

Er, the two short films are good too.

* Malwarez, by Alex Dragulescu. 3D visualizations of the behavior and growth of computer viruses. I dunno, they’re cool-looking.

* Red. Just a drawing of a shoe, but the texture is eye-catchingly well done.

* Rabbits by Andre Medina. Just what it says on the tin– rabbits.

Leave a Reply

