an enormous batch of links

This week I discovered the magic of Google Reader, several millennia behind the rest of the Internet, and found some blogs to follow and some posts that I wanted to, I don’t know– sort of share and sort of leave here for myself, as an indication of what it is in other artists’ work that catches my eye, and why.

So these are the posts that caught my eye in the last few days:

* The Blank Page by George Metaxas, stop-motion animation done on cardboard. Such a great example of taking flat cartoony things and using them to construct a four-dimensional, believable world. Animation is not a huge interest of mine, but I just adore the little world Matexas makes here, and the lighting and the characters’ expressions and the everything.

* Some Tuomas Korpi paintings. One is a still life, but the others are fantasy art, and I love how the lighting and color are all soft and evocative and lovely but there’s still so much detail worked into every image.

* Illustrations by Sam Wolfe Connelly. His style isn’t necessarily the kind I’d usually go for, but he does some really neat, controlled stuff with texture.

* Art for a computer game called Machinarium. I am not specifically enthusiastic about steampunk per se, but I love historical or pseudo-historical settings and I love art that can take mechanical subjects and give them character. Which seem to comprise pretty much the entirety of this game art, so I’m happy.

* 10 Innovative Subway Advertisements. All interactive art to varying degrees, but interesting for conceptual if not aesthetic purposes. Potatoes growing out of the ceiling!

* Nicholas Marlet. His art has a really cartoony, lighthearted aesthetic and a caricature-like way of depicting people, and yet it still comes off as really sophisticated and I can’t yet figure out how. Something to do with clean lines and selective color palette, maybe.

* Anthony Lister and again in one of the paintings here. I find his aesthetic really fascinating; it’s very linear and . . . what’s “painterly” but for drawing? but the big wet splashes of color are definitely a painting thing, and the overall effect is more collage-like than anything.

* Wine label design by Shepard Fairey, who also designed the Obama HOPE poster. Much more detailed and textured than the Obama poster, and absolutely beautiful.

* James Gleeson. The first of his paintings I’m okay with– pretty clearly Dali-influenced– but it’s the other two that really caught my eye. As far as I can see there are no figurative forms in there at all, and yet there’s a very solid sense of color and form and motion and a completely fascinating impression that something is happening, even if I can’t tell what.

* Stereoscopic landscape photography. I’m not sure what that means, actually! Besides “really cool-looking.”

* This is a hybrid dot matrix printer/paintball gun that sprays pixellated art onto walls; I have no conceivable use for it, and yet I need it desperately. All the examples shown there are monochrome, but I bet designs in multiple colors– done in layers like silkscreening– would look fantastic.

* Alexandra Navratil, The Searchlights That Dazzled The Stars. This would be a beautiful striking photograph on its own– see, it is possible to make a symmetrical image visually interesting! sometimes– but what really sells it for me is the way it’s presented and how that draws the viewer, visually and physically, into the space of the photograph.

* Gayle Chong Kwan, Save the last dance for me. I don’t know what’s going on here, honestly, but I love it an awful lot. I’m not even sure whether the work is the card itself or the photograph of the card, or both; a glance at the artist’s website suggested she’s an installation artist, but I really don’t want to think about this one too closely. I like not “getting” it.

* Pascal Campion talks about drawing— about practicing, and not being afraid to show your work to people, and about how great technical skill doesn’t necessarily translate to compelling artwork or vice versa.

* How To Move a Character in Space, ColorJack, and Posemaniacs. Reference tools, not actual art, but still useful to keep around. I might take some time this weekend to play around with ColorJack, as working with color in general is not one of my strengths.

Also, on an honorary basis, an older thing by an artist I already loved:

* Sydney Padua draws covers for (fake) vintage adventure novels. I am really a huge admirer of Sydney Padua’s art– I know she’s also an animator, but as I’ve said that isn’t a big interest of mine, so I mainly mean her still art. She has a really fantastic capacity to convey character and mood and be really expressive in just plain black and white, and to convey hugely different moods from one panel to the next of a comic page while maintaining a consistent style, and I can only hope to someday be anywhere near as good at these things as she is.

My lists will probably not be this enormous every week; this one was the result of me subscribing to a couple dozen blogs all at once and then spending a ridiculous amount of time reading back through each one.

Leave a Reply

